Posted in Album Review

Chronixx’s Chronology

About 5 years ago in an interview on Fame 95, Chronixx was asked when he would be releasing his first album. The reggae artiste responded that he wanted his first album to be like a photo album, where different points of his life could be commemorated. Finally, on July 7, 2017, Chronixx released Chronology, a reggae album with clear hip-hop influences, and it is safe to say he kept his promise.

From di fus drum roll inna “Spanish Town Rocking” I was mesmerised. Even though the song was released on the Roots & Chalice mixtape, it made it clear Chronixx was taking us on a walk down memory lane. He opens the album by painting a picture of what it was like growing up in Villa de la Vega, Spanish Town. The second track features Chronicle, Chronixx’s father and serves as a symbol of the artiste’s early exposure to music. The remaining tracks showcase other points in Chronixx’s musical journey. He sings of the beauty and shortcomings of Jamaica, believing in himself, Rastafari, black empowerment and making his mark in music.

I listened to every song on the album once and bawled livin’ yiy wata when I got to “I Know Love”;sixteen songs went by too quickly. Naturally, I restarted the entire album. This time I turned up the volume so the sweet basslines could rattle my mind, body, soul, mommy’s what-not and every unused glass, plate and crystal inside it.

The most impressive aspect of the album is that you can hear the time and effort put into every song from the writing stage straight through to production. You know how with some albums there is a song or two you don’t feel guilty about skipping? Well,with Chronology there is no want, desire, urge or need to do anything but let reggae music play.

I’d like to take this time to extend a virtual handshake to every member of Chronixx’s steam. How unnu suh bad? Special love goes out to every bassy on the album. It’s been a minute since I’ve heard such dynamic basslines and unnu manage fi dweet fi every song. Another thing is, if you really sit and listen to the instrumentals you can hear a million things happening at once – keys, guitars, percussions- all without being overpowering; the music can still breathe. Unnu gimme goosebumps! Again I ask, how unnu suh bad?

 

I can’t even talk about my favourite track because I love them all. I must admit the first time I listened to the album I wasn’t a fan of “Christina”. Then one day I found myself walking around the house singing “Oh Christinaaa I still believe in meee!” and from that point on, I was hooked. Don’t take my word for it, check the album out for yourself. How? Well Chronixx made it clear that him a dweet fi di love by making every track on the album available on Youtube!

If you haven’t already done so, mah beg yuh please guh tek a listen, and lemme know what you think.

That’s all for now folks! Stay tuned for more song and event reviews. Don’t forget to comment, like and most importantly share :).

Walk Good,

Alexia Blair

Universal Reggae

Author:

I'm a proud Jamaican studying to be a Speech Pathologist in the United States. I'm in love with music and consider myself a Reggae Activist. I'm also over three years into my Natural Hair Journey. So this is where I'll put my thoughts, questions, concerns... and rants.

Leave a comment