Posted in Song Review, Uncategorized

Kapital Stone’s “People”

Kapital Stone released his song “People” a couple weeks ago and after hearing the lyrics, I had to put pen to paper. Kapital gave new meaning to tek bad sinting mek laugh as he puts people who think they’re God’s greatest gift to man in their place. While listening to this song, I somehow planned a music video for it. Ladies and gentlemen, welcome to my imagination…

So there’s this wise old man with his walking stick trodding down the road with his grandson whom he is telling about everyone’s least favourite kind of people. You know the type; they’re the folks who think they’re brilliant but everyone else knows dem dunce plus tax!

The more the old man describes this type of people, the more passionate he becomes about the topic. His passion turns to anger and when the chorus comes around, him fling weh him walking stick and seh:

“People! Mi cya deal wid people!”

That’s all I came up with so far. It is easy to see Kapital has an old soul as it shows in the words of wisdom that roll effortlessly off his tongue. I loved the way he combined this wisdom with humor to remind us not to take ourselves too seriously. That being said, here are some of my favourite lines:

Parading like you are the creator of greatness

 

Pretentious behaviour is preceded by the misleading guise of believing you are the reason the sun in the east will rise

 

While 7 billion other people on the planet though. Everybody else sick and yuh seem to be the antidote? Yuh hear how dat sound? Please shut yourself up!

 

Want more? Gwan guh listen di song!

As usual, I have to show some love to the producer, Kris Karz. This is one of the first productions I’ve heard from him and I am a fan! The riddim was simple and didn’t overpower Kapital Stone’s vocals. Don’t even get me started on that bass though! Much respect goes out to Kris Karz for this one.

 

Find Kapital on Social Media:

Facebook: Kapital Stone

Instagram:@kapitalstone

Soundcloud: Kapital Stone

Youtube: Kapital Stone

Photo Credit goes to Graffiti Emsi Photography (@graffitiemsi on Instagram)

Well, that’s all for now folks. Don’t forget to let me know what you think.

 

Walk Good,

Alexia Blair

Universal Reggae

Author:

I'm a proud Jamaican studying to be a Speech Pathologist in the United States. I'm in love with music and consider myself a Reggae Activist. I'm also two years into my Natural Hair Journey. So this is where I'll put my thoughts, questions, concerns... and rants.

Leave a Reply

